Edge of a Cliff

At the edge of a cliff,
With a rope with way too much slack,
I’ve been here before,
Last time I tried to turn back,
So I do it again?
Jump with no plan of attack,
Fall helplessly in,
Hope the rope doesn’t snap.

I guess this pen to the paper,
Thing took quite a while,
I held much of it inside,
I probably will for a while,
But the second,
The instant,
I took you in my hands,
And you smiled,
I swear I felt the cursed feelings,
Finally,
Leave me to reconcile.

And amazement!
At first,
I’m not wowing at all,
I’m falling flat on my face,
I hit a sort of romantic wall,
Where the ideas are there,
And the feelings (I think),
Are screaming at me to leave my heart on the brink,
But my soul has been tested so much more than my heart,
And I cannot steal emotions that weren’t mine at the start,
I’ve learned through experience that love is an art,
One you cannot create twice,
Unless you’re aiming for scars.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About brettspadaro

Attempting to complete a business degree in southern California. Dream big, act rationally. Go for what you believe in.

Leave a Reply

