Why Are You So Quiet?

I’m sorry, was I supposed to be loud? Am I expected to verbally express my opinion on every little nuance at the same moment you do?
No.
Don’t you dare look at me with that punitive face, as if you’re internally asking yourself, “Why is this guy so strange? Here I am, as loud as can be, providing the perfect opportunity for social interaction, and he still says only two words accompanied by a (thinly veiled) pity laugh.”

There is nothing here, at this job, or anywhere else, really, that requires me to partake in your aggressive, obnoxious conversations. If you would really like to talk, let me bring up the article I read on my break, about how scientists are closing in on a way to store massive amounts of data in DNA. Let’s discuss why this is important, if it is important at all, and marvel at how small we are compared to scientists with multiple PhD.’s, and more brain cells than half this staff. No? Oh alright. Well then by all means continue with your re-cap of how drunk you were last Saturday, or the newest episode of whatever show everybody is watching. Don’t expect me to participate. Don’t expect me to feel bad when you start referencing things I do not care about, and then please, oh God please, do not look at me as if there is something wrong with me for not being as well versed in pop culture as someone such as yourself. It is after all, “pop” culture. I don’t care this week, and you won’t care next week.

I do not do well when I am expected to answer an obnoxious, response loaded question in front of people. What am I, a fucking show horse? There’s a reason I am keeping my hat low and head down while this flock of sheep spouting their weekend plans forms around me for some unknowable reason. “We’re gonna have fun tonight!! Right Brett??” I don’t know, I don’t care. You will probably have the same weekend you’ve been having for the last few months. That my friend, is what I would enjoy talking about, because that, is human nature.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About brettspadaro

Attempting to complete a business degree in southern California. Dream big, act rationally. Go for what you believe in.

Leave a Reply

